Remembering Tejaswi

Tejaswi

ಪೂರ್ಣಚಂದ್ರ ತೇಜಸ್ವಿ

Today afternoon when I got up from sleep, the clock was showing two thirty. I usually rise bit late after working whole night in the office. But today I don’t know why I got up early. I started surfing the TV channels for next few minutes. In an hour or so, I happened to see an interview of Poornachandra Tejaswi in E-TV. I threw the remote aside and started watching my favourite writer speak. As most of the people know, Tejaswi does not come out and give interviews to media. So it was a delight to see him on TV. I came to know that the interview was a repeat telecast from the archives. Jayanth Kaykini, an exceptional Kannada short story writer interviewed Tejaswi.

In the middle of the interview a flash news appeared: Tejaswi passed away in Mudigere due to heart attack. It came as a shocking news. The person who was shown discussing his life and body of work on TV is not with us anymore. I turned to other Kannada channels; TV9 , Udaya news and Chandana to confirm the news. It was true. Kannada writers, politicians and eminent personalities expressed their sadness on TV. Everyone shared a thought that Tejaswi’s death is a big loss to Kannada literature. It was strange that my wall clock had stopped working at 2:30 pm, exactly the time of his death, perhaps indicating the end of an era.

He has always been my favorite writer. I remember my school days, when I read his book about UFOs. I was so fascinated by his writing that it made me read more books about extra terrestrial, space science and astronomy.  His book ‘Karvalo’ is my all time favorite. The vivid picture of Western Ghats that he paints in this novel is beautiful. His novel ‘Jugari cross’ is a superb thriller depicting the invisible chains of underworld mafia surrounding the tranquil forest area of Western Ghats. ‘Chidambara Rahasya’ is another enjoyable novel that deals with many social issues of that region.

Tejaswi’s short stories became a bench mark for the future writers in Kannada. ‘Abachurina post office’, ‘ Tabarana kathe’ ‘Kirigoorina gayyaligalu’ and ‘ Kubi maththu iyaala’ are milestones in the Kannada literary field. I remember a Kannada lecturer of mine, who while explaining the character of  Tabara from one of Tejaswi’s short stories could not resist himself from shedding tears. That is the depth of characterization in his stories. Some of his works were adapted for cinema and received critical acclaim.

His love for nature is very evident in his works. Whether it is bird-photography or his writings on wild life,  we can see his extensive research and decades of experience. He loved the silent life the jungles of Western Ghats offered. As he rightly said in his interview, jungle becomes alive when we surrender to it by our silence. We should  also remember that his father Kuvempu was also a nature lover. His epic novels and poetry talked about nature in great lengths. While in his writings we see jungle as a divine entities, sort of protecting human beings, his son’s writing was more pragmatic.Tejaswi sensed that these jungles are in the need of protection by man and not vice versa.

Tejaswi’s writings on jungle and wildlife is more than just an observation at the greenery. With an integral scientific temper and a sense of inquiry his writings goes beyond the boundaries of superficial observations. It  touches the most fundamental issues of life and gives us a whole new perspective to appreciate nature. Because of the richness and style of his writing, his non-fiction works too carry the beauty of fiction narrative. Other than writing, Tejaswi experimented in many fields such as painting, Sitar, agriculture, ornithology, photography  and studies and activities related to environment. He has told many a times that he is a better painter  than a writer and his writings made him more popular.

I always wanted to meet Tejaswi and tell him how beautifully he has created an entire universe for millions of Kannada readers like me. I wanted to thank him for providing us a window to the world of international literature, history, science and wildlife in the days when internet was a thing we never heard.

I know my dream of meeting my favorite writer will never come true. As it is true to any good writer, his thoughts and ideas will remain immortal in his writings and we can see him in his books. I request all those who can read Kannada language to pick up some of his books to see what he means to thousands of people like me.

19 thoughts on “Remembering Tejaswi

  1. This is a superb tribute.

    Kannada Saraswata world has lost one Mayavi, for ever.
    His sharp words, brilliant out look, capacity with which he can understand and present the world around him, amazing.

    If some one has really followed Kuvempu’s aadarsha, then it is Tejaswi and no one else, sadly.

  2. Hi Shiv,
    once I had met u on orkut and we had few lines abut ‘Papillon’ book I believe..unfortunately after we lost the touch.
    Fine Shiv its nice to visit ur blog and reading Tejaswi blogs. And I would like to hear or read from those who loves Tejawi like us..

    TEJASWI
    I really dont have words the way my Tejaswi inspired my life. I have read most of his books. The Tejaswi is such Giagantic personality that When our folks of karnataka unaware of even black and white TV dacades ago he blessed kannadigas both Discovery and National geographic ‘Colored’ channels through his beautiful writings. I feel Tejaswi spread a unique environmental consciousness into the culture of karnataka which is flowing subconsciously in our blood.
    I feel that if such a personality happend to be present in europe or America and writes in english would have been honoured by Nobel prize.

    Fine anyway let me tell u it was a great moment for me when I tried to attend his burial ceremony when he passed away unfortunately i missed it because i was late, but it gave me a different experience to me. I visited his home late afternoon that day by that time the procession had moved to Kuppali, Then me and my friend entered into front yard of that empty silent home down in the green … Oh I found Tejawi soul all around in that silence.. we had few words with mourning 3 workers there. I roamed all round his silent home standing still in midst of green. The front door was locked for outers and it was visible from window glass the photo of Tejaswi and lighting Deepa and some garlands left over where his was laid down on the cot. At the backside of his home some three chairs and T-pai and a India Today magazine was lying. And right above there was Wind-chime a piped bell was hanging and making devine sound now and then in response to slow wind which filled my heart. Guys I dont know how rightly im articulating my feelings but hope u r sensing some bits what im trying to express. Unfortunately we dint have a camera with us. We saw his scooter standing in his side shed and a environment labelled cap in the scooter board.
    Then we roamed inside his estate and a small handy tree just behind his home was there with plenty of unknown fruites [looks like sort of ‘halasu’] and i saw n numbers of grafting done on most of the branches in that tree.

    Fine let me finish, Ok then we roamed inside the estate and came back to the mourning home in silence. We spoke once again to sad faced workers and there was a coutry dog so we asked abut it they said its not Tejaswi’s dog its some other they said and they also told us that Tejaswi stopped keeping dog when his last beloved pet dog [country one] had died in road accident infornt of his estate road. And that is the only occasion in their life time that they have seen our Tejawi Crying.

    Ok that is all friend for now..
    ur blog made me to write so much for the first time abut tejawi on net..fine. Hope u may keep this lengthy comment here in ur blog..

    Regards
    venkatesh
    email: venkven@gmail.com
    pls display my ID also.

  3. Venkatesh,
    Thanks for this wonderful comment. You have successfully articulated your respect and feelings for Tejaswi. Tejaswi will be always remembered for his unique writing style-full of humour and an approach of an enthusiastic discoverer.
    For me Tejaswi is like an adventurer who has crossed all the seas and oceans, climbed all the hills and mountains, seen all the tribes and dynasties and has a millions of stories in his bag which he shares among us through his writings. His books are the chronicles of the wonders which took place in our times.
    I will definitely share my thoughts about his writings and the writings of other stalwarts with you, which I think have helped me look at this world in a different perspective.

  4. Hi Shiva good evening,
    U know now a days I feel and find with desire that is there any book or writings left without reading by me. I collected most of the articles abut him in the newspapers which are published at the time of his Death. They are prescious records of Tejaswi’s life… which is difficult to collect in any other occasion…So when he died then I started buy in all the newspapers and magazines whichever mentioning abut him… even i collected Mayura and all wich comes monthly. I had told few of my friends too to collect those papers in which if come to see something abut tejaswi.. [I did same when Dr. Raj passed away but not as seriously as in case of Tejaswi] now i have bundle to papers and magazines with me which i collected at the period of his death. Now in future when I get a free time i will sit and sort those papers wich is going to be nice experience to spend time with tejaswi..and anybody who have articles collected like me can exchange views and articles also. we can get it xeroxed.

    that is all for now
    regards
    venkatesh

  5. Venkatesh,
    It is really a very interesting idea. We can surely exchange articles about Tejaswi among fellow readers. Instead of circulating photocopies of those articles what I suggest is; you scan those various articles – of course with the credit of the periodical in which the article got published – and put it on a newly created blog specially dedicated to Tejaswi. In that blog you can post your and your friend’s articles; and also discuss about his writings. (Care should be taken to keep his published and copy righted works away from being posted on this blog) This blog should be a place where Tejaswi’s fans discuss about him and his works. What is your opinion? One more thing: the Mayura magazine which carried an obituary edition on Tejaswi was really a collector’s edition. I also have a copy.

  6. Hi Shiva,
    ur idea of scanning is good..but my collection is at home shimoga and im in gurgaon. I have to see when it is goin to get possible. Anyway lets see, if u have further concerns in this regard pls do write regards

    venkatesh

  7. Well Shiva, Apart from Tejaswi, I dont think i have favorites,,but I did read Byrappa some books in that ‘Thanthu’ and ‘Anchu’ were nice novels. I did read “Malegalalli Madumagalu” of Kuvempu which is equalent to ‘100 years of solitude’ [which got the nobel prize] novel; what Tejaswi has referred in his ‘Annana nenapu’, and bcos of Tejaswi’s reading made me to read other wildlife writers.. among them Forester Chinnappa’s “kadina jeevagalu” its nice read it. and Jattappa Rai’s “Beteya nenapugalu” excellent book and reading Biographies is a different experience..I have read byrappa’s Bitthi, Shivaram karanth’s hucchu manassina hattu mukagalu, even old writer’s biographies also..though i havnt read their any book I did read their Biographies.. i had read, especially “nanna biagraphy” of Beechi is remarkable…1 or 2 books of Ravi Belagere too, U know, another great and unique work in Kannada which might have not done in other languages of Indian literature is HL Nagegowda’s ” Pravasi Kanda India” I think these books are in 3 Samputa’s or so… one book is as big as Old Dictionary but worthy to read, but dont think that i have read all of them.. I did read one of htem some part of one book its a great work man… It is the books which tells all those visitors of India and what they have written on India from the time “Hue en Tsang”, Marko polo, etc…. U can go Ride into our Indian History without any “Gile shikava” because all those written are depends on what they have written in their books..and let me tell u I read all these things from Library books so far I did buy only Tejaswi’s Book.

    ok fine tats all here
    regards
    venkatesh

  8. Venkatesh,
    It is well understood from your last comment that you have read some of the best literature works in Kannada. Well, let me share few things about my favourite books.

    Tejaswi’s writings came into my life when I had just started some serious reading during my school days. His writings unveiled a fascinating world to me which was hitherto unknown to me. From his science writings I gradually moved on to novels and short stories, all of which have left a long lasting effect on my mind. To name few of the books: Karvalo, Jugaari Cross, Chidambara rahasya, Milenium series, Flying saucers etc

    Karanth is another legend who has left behind a great treasure of wonderful books. I loved many of his novels -(Chomana dudi, Alida mele etc). His simple and humorous writing style is unique. I give a numero uno priority to his books over books by any other writer.

    S L Bhyrappa is a great writer who has taken our literature to new hights. In Tejaswi’s witings you get to see the scientific temper – a quest to understand the nature around us. Likewise, in S L Bhyrappa’s writings you see a philosophical approach. I always equated philosophy with ‘mythology’, ‘theology’ or such fairy tale like thing. But Bhyrappa’s writings proved me wrong and introduced me into the vast field of Indian philosophy. How science is considered as a discipline to study this universe and its laws; philosophy also deals with many fundamental queries. It is also a His book ‘Saartha’ is a must for anyone who wants to study the history of Indian philosophy – which is considered to be the oldest in the world, and is rightly followed by Greek and Chinese philosophies. In Saartha you get a glimpse of 9th AD India through the eyes of a traveller. The depiction of lifestyle, customs, ideologies is cinematic. The writer has taken utmost care in keeping up the historical authenticity and minute detail work. You will get to know the rich culture of Hindu, budhism and other philosophical schools in an era of external Islamic invasion. I strongly recommend this book to you. I also ask you to make some homework before venturing into this book – by reading some articles about Indian philosophy on http://www.wikipedia.org

    Every single book by S L Bhyrappa is an eye opener towards life. ‘Parva’ is a magnum opus – a superb classic. ‘Naayi neralu’ is another superbly crafted novel. ‘Grahana’ is the one where philosophy and science confronts each other. If any writer from India has to be given a nobel prize in literature today, SLB’s name should top the list. He is unarguably the best writer in the Indian arena.

    I would write separate articles about his writings some other day in my blog. Other writers who have made me go to bookshop again and again are Jayanth Kaykini and Ravi Belegere. I also like to read old books by writers like Kayyara Kinhanna Rai, Murthy Rao etc. I would write more about my favourite writers some other day. It is really nice to share my opinions about Kannada books with a likeminded person as you.

  9. Hi Shiva,
    ನಿಮ್ಮ ಫೆವರೈಟ್ ಲೇಖಕರ ಕುರಿತ ನಿಮ್ಮ ಅಭಿಪ್ರಾಯ ಓದಿದೆ, ಚೆನ್ನಾಗಿದೆ.
    ಮತ್ತೆ , ನನಗೆ ಬರಹ ಡೈರೆಕ್ಟ್ ನಿಂದ ವೆಬ್ ಸೈಟಿನಲ್ಲಿ ಕನ್ನಡದಲ್ಲಿ ಬರೆಯಬಹುದು ಎಂದೇ ಗೊತ್ತಿರಲಿಲ್ಲ… ಹುಹ್..

    ಇನ್ಮೇಲೆ ಕನ್ನಡದಲ್ಲೇ ಬರೀತೀನಿ ಓಕೆ ನಾ? ಸ್ವಲ್ಪ ವೇಗ ಕಡಿಮೆಯಾಗುತ್ತದೆ ಅನ್ನುವುದು ಬಿಟ್ಟರೆ ಇನ್ನೇನಿಲ್ಲ.

    ಶಿವ, ನನಗನಿಸುತ್ತೆ, ಶಿವರಾಮ ಕಾರಂತರ ಬರಹಕ್ಕೆ ಆಕರ್ಷಕ ಶೈಲಿ ಇಲ್ಲದೆ ಹೋದದ್ದು ಕನ್ನಡಿಗರ ದುರಾದೃಷ್ಟ ಅಂತ. ಇವರಿಬ್ಬರು ವೈಜ್ನಾನಿಕ [ಜ್ನಾ – ??] ಬರಹಗಾರರಾಗಿದ್ದರಿಂದ ಬಹಳ ಹತ್ತಿರವಿದ್ದರು, ಕಾರಂತರೇ ಖುದ್ದಾಗಿ ತೇಜಸ್ವಿಯವರಿಗೆ “ನೀನು ನನ್ನ ಮುಂದುವರಿದ ಭಾಗ ಕಣಯ್ಯ” ಅಂತ ಹೇಳಿದ್ದರು, ಇದರಿಂದ ತೇಜಸ್ವಿ ಭಾಳ ಖುಷಿಯಾಗಿದ್ದರಂತೆ.. ಕಾರಂತರಿಗೆ, ತೇಜಸ್ವಿ ಹಾಗೆ ಅನುಭವಿಸಿ ಬರೆಯಲಿಕಾಗಲಿಲ್ಲ ಎಂದು ಸಹ ಹೇಳಿದ್ದರಂತೆ.
    ಕಾರಂತರಿಗೂ ಕಂಪ್ಯೂಟರ್ ಕಲಿಯುವ ಆಸೆ ಹುಟ್ಟಿಸಿದವರು ತೇಜಸ್ವಿ, ತೇಜಸ್ವಿ ಕಾರಂತರಿಗೊಂದು ಕಂಪ್ಯೂಟರ್ ಉಡುಗೊರೆ ಕೊಡುವ ಯೋಚನೆಯಲ್ಲಿದ್ದರು ಅದರೆ ಅದು ಈಡೇರುವ ಮುನ್ನವೇ ಕಾರಂತರು ಕಣ್ಮರೆಯಾದರು.

    ಬಹುಶಃ ಅಣ್ಣನ ನೆನಪು ನಲ್ಲ್ಲಿ ತೇಜಸ್ವಿ ನಮಗೆ ತತ್ವಶಾಸ್ತ್ರದ ಬಗ್ಗೆ ಸರಿಯಾಗಿ ಮನವರಿಕೆ ಮಾಡಿಕೊಟ್ಟಿದ್ದಾರೆ, ಅಂದಹಾಗೆ ಕನ್ನಡ ಸಾಹಿತ್ಯದ ಬಹಳಷ್ಟು ಜಟಿಲತೆಗಳನ್ನು ಮನವರಿಕೆ ಮಾಡಿಕೊಟ್ಟವರಲ್ಲಿ ತೇಜಸ್ವಿ ಅಗ್ರಗಣ್ಯರು ಅನಿಸುತ್ತದೆ. ಈ ಪುಸ್ತಕದಲ್ಲಿ ತೇಜಸ್ವಿ ಹೇಳಿದಂತೆ, ಭಾರತೀಯ ತತ್ವಶಾಸ್ತ್ರದಲ್ಲಿ ನಮಗೊದಗುವ ತೊಂದರೆಯಂದರೆ ಯಾವುದು ತತ್ವಶಾಸ್ತ್ರ ಯಾವುದು ಪುರಾಣ ಅಂತ ಗುರುತಿಸಲಾಗದಂತಾಗಿರುವುದು.

    ತೇಜಸ್ವಿ ಬರೀಯ ಕುತೂಹಲಿಯಾಗಿಯಲ್ಲದೇ, ಬಹಳ ಎಚ್ಚರಿಕೆಯೂ ತೆಗೆದುಕೊಳ್ಳುತ್ತಿದ್ದರು, ಯಾವುದೇ ವಿಚಾರ ನಮ್ಮ ಜನರನ್ನು ಶೋಷಿಸುವ ಕಂದಾಚಾರಗಳ ಪೋಷಣೆ ಮಾಡುವಂತದ್ದಾಗಿದೆಯೇ ಎಂದು ಬಹಳ ಎಚ್ಚರ ವಹಿಸುತ್ತಿದ್ದರು.

    ನಾನು ‘ಸಾರ್ಥ’ ಓದಿಲ್ಲ ಅದರ ಬಗ್ಗೆ ಏನೂ ಗೊತ್ತಿಲ್ಲ, ನೋಡಬೇಕು ಯಾವಗಾಲಾದರೂ.
    ಬಹುಶಃ ನೀವು ಹೇಳಿರುವಂತೆ ನೋಡಿದರೆ ಖಂಡಿತವಾಗಿ ಚೆನ್ನಾಗಿರಬೇಕು, ಆದ್ದರಿಂದಲೇ ಇದರ ಬಗ್ಗೆ ಅಷ್ಟೊಂದು ವಾಗ್ವಾದ, ಚರ್ಚೆಗಳಾಗಲಿಲ್ಲ.

    ತುಂಬಾ ಥ್ಯಾಂಕ್ಸ್
    ನನಗೂ ಸಹ ನಾನು ಓದಿದ್ದನ್ನೆಲ್ಲಾ ಚರ್ಚಿಸಲು ಅನುವಾಗುತ್ತಿರುವುದು ತುಂಬಾ ಖುಶಿ ನೀಡಿದೆ.
    ವೆಂಕಟೇಶ್
    ಗುರ್ ಗಾಂವ್
    venkven@gmail.com

  10. @ Venkatesh,
    ಅಂತರ್ಜಾಲದಲ್ಲಿ ಕನ್ನಡದಲ್ಲಿ ವಿಚಾರಗಳನ್ನು ಅಭಿವ್ಯಕ್ತಪಡಿಸುವ ಭಾಗ್ಯ ನಮಗೆ ಬಹಳ ಹಿಂದೆಯೇ ಲಭ್ಯವಾಗಿತ್ತು. ಆದರೆ ತಾಂತ್ರಿಕ ಕಾರಣಗಳಿಂದಾಗಿ ಇದು ತುಸು ಕಡಿಮೆ ಪ್ರಾಶಸ್ತ್ಯ ಪಡೆದಿರಬೇಕು.

    ಕಾರಂತರ ಬಗೆಗಿನ ಮಾತುಕತೆಯನ್ನು ಮುಂದುವರೆಸುತ್ತಾ ನಾನು ಒಂದೆರಡು ವಿಚಾರಗಳನ್ನು ಹೇಳಬೇಕೆನಿಸುತ್ತದೆ. ಕಾರಂತರ ಬರವಣೆಗೆಗೆ ಅದರದ್ದೇ ಆದ ಒಂದು ಸೆಳೆತ ಇದ್ದದ್ದಂತೂ ನಿಜ. ಅವರ ಕಾದಂಬರಿಗಳ ಪಾತ್ರಗಳು ತೀರಾ ನೈಜವಾದ್ದವು. ಅವರು ಕಂಡು, ಮಾತಾಡಿ, ಕಾಲ ಕಳೆದ ವ್ಯಕ್ತಿಗಳೇ ಅವರ ಕಾದಂಬರಿಗಳ ತುಂಬೆಲ್ಲಾ ಓಡಾಡಿಕೊಂಡಿದ್ದರು. ಸನ್ನಿವೇಶಗಳೂ ಹಾಗೆಯೇ, ಅವರ ಕಾಲದ ಜ್ವಲಂತ ಸಮಸ್ಯೆಗಳು, ಆಮೆಗತಿಯಲ್ಲಿ ಬದಲಾವಣೆ ಕಾಣುತ್ತಿದ್ದ ಆ ಜನಜೀವನ ಹಾಗೂ ನಂಬಿಕೆ-ಶ್ರಮ-ಕನಸುಗಳ ಜೊತೆಗೆ ಕಾಲ ಸಾಗಿಸುವ ಹುಮ್ಮಸ್ಸುಗಳಿಂದ ಕೂಡಿದ್ದವು. ಬಹುಷಃ ಇವೆಲ್ಲವನ್ನೂ ಆವರಿಸಿಕೊಂಡಿರುವ ಕಾರಂತರ ಕಾದಂಬರಿಗಳು ಅವರು ಬಾಳಿದ ಕಾಲಕ್ಕೆ ಹಿಡಿದ ಕೈಗನ್ನಡಿ. ಓದುಗರನ್ನು ಕೂತಲ್ಲಿಯೇ ದಶಕಗಳಾಚೆಗೆ ಕರೆದೊಯ್ಯುವ ಮಾಂತ್ರಿಕತೆ ಅವರ ಬರವಣಿಗೆಗೆ ಇತ್ತು. ನಾಡಿನಾದ್ಯಂತ ಇರುವ ನವಂಬರ್ ಕನ್ನಡ ಪ್ರೇಮಿಗಳು ದಶಕಗಳಿಂದ ತಾಳಿರುವ ದಿವ್ಯ-ಪುಸ್ತಕ-ನಿರಾಸಕ್ತಿಯಿಂದಾಗಿ ಕಾರಂತರು ಇನ್ನೂ ಕಪಾಟಿನಲ್ಲೇ ಉಳಿದುಬಿಟ್ಟಿದ್ದಾರೆ. ನಾನು ಒಂಭತ್ತನೇ ತರಗತಿಯಲ್ಲಿದ್ದಾಗ ಅವರೊಡನೆ ಕೆಲವು ನಿಮಿಷಗಳಷ್ಟು ಕಾಲ ಕಳೆಯುವ ಸುಸಂದರ್ಭ ಒದಗಿ ಬಂದಿತ್ತು. ಅವರೊಡನೆ ನಾನು ಮತ್ತು ನನ್ನ ಗೆಳೆಯ ಸಿದ್ದೀಕ್ ಕಳೆದ ಕೆಲವು ನಿಮಿಷಗಳು ನಮ್ಮ ಜೀವನದಾದ್ಯಂತ ಮೆಲುಕು ಹಾಕಿಕೊಳ್ಳುವಂತಹವು.

    ಇನ್ನು ಎಸ್. ಎಲ್. ಭ್ಹೈರಪ್ಪರ ‘ಸಾರ್ಥ’ ಕಾದಂಬರಿಯನ್ನು ನೀವು ಓದಬೇಕು ಎನ್ನುವ ಮನವಿಯನ್ನು ಮತ್ತೊಮ್ಮೆ ಮಾಡುತ್ತೇನೆ. ಅದನ್ನು ಓದುವ ಮೊದಲೊಮ್ಮೆ ಭಾರತೀಯ ತತ್ತ್ವ ಶಾಸ್ತ್ರದ ಬಗ್ಗೆ ಮೇಲ್ನೋಟ ಹರಿಸುವುದು ಉಚಿತವಾದೀತು. ಈ ಕಾದಂಬರಿಯ ಬಗ್ಗೆ ಅಷ್ಟೇನೂ ಚರ್ಚೆಗಳಾಗಿಲ್ಲ (ಅರ್ಥಾತ್ ವಿರೋಧಿಸಿ) ಎಂಬುದು ಬಹುಷಃ ಅವರ ಸದಾ ವಿರೋಧಿಗಳು ಉತ್ತರಿಸಬೇಕಾದ ವಿಚಾರ. ಆವರ ಕಾದಂಬರಿಗಳು ಯಾವುದೋ ರಾಜಕೀಯ ವಿಚಾರಗಳ ಪ್ರತಿಪಾದನೆಗೆ ಮೀಸಲು ಎನ್ನುವ ಹುಸಿ ವಾದವನ್ನು ನಾವು ಮೆಟ್ಟಿ ನಿಂತು, ಓದುವಿಕೆಗೆ ತೊಡಗಿದಾಗ ಖಂಡಿತವಾಗಿಯೂ ಒಂದು ಅಗೋಚರ ಪ್ರಪಂಚದ ಒಂದು ಝಲಕ್ ಸಿಗುವುದಂತೂ ನಿಶ್ಚಿತ.

  11. ಹೆಲೋ ಶಿವ,

    ಈಗಿನ ದಿನಗಳಲ್ಲಿ, ನಾನು ತಾತ್ವಿಕ ಅವಶ್ಯಕತೆಗಳಿಗಾಗಿ ನಾನು ಓಶೋವನ್ನು ಓದುತ್ತಿದ್ದೇನೆ. ನಾನು ಶಿವಮೊಗ್ಗದಲ್ಲಿದ್ದಾಗ ಓಶೋವಚನ ವೆಂಬ ಕನ್ನಡ ಮಾಸಿಕ ಪತ್ರಿಕೆಯನ್ನು ಓದುತ್ತಿದ್ದೆ. ಈಗ ಉತ್ತರ ಭಾರತಕ್ಕೆ ಬಂದ ಮೇಲೆಅದು ನನಗೆ ಸಿಗುತ್ತಿಲ್ಲ. ಓಶೋ ನನಗೆ ಬಹಳ ಶಕ್ತ, ಕ್ರಾಂತಿಕಾರಕ ದಾರ್ಶನಿಕನೆನಿಸುತ್ತಾನೆ. ಆದರೆ ಓಶೋನ ವಿಚಾರವೆಲ್ಲವನ್ನು ಅರಗಿಸಿಕೊಳ್ಳುವುದು ಸಾಮಾನ್ಯರಿಗೆ ಕಷ್ಟವೆನಿಸುತ್ತದೆ.
    ವೆಂಕಟೇಶ್

  12. @ Venkatesh,
    ಓಶೋ ಬಗ್ಗೆ ನಾನು ಬಹಳಷ್ಟು ಕೇಳಿದ್ದೇನೆ. ಆದರೆ ಅವರ ವಿಚಾರಗಳನ್ನು ಓದುವ ಅವಕಾಶ ಇನ್ನೂ ಸಿಕ್ಕಿಲ್ಲ. ಆವರು ಭಾರತದ ಬಗ್ಗೆಯೇ ಬರೆದಿರುವ ಒಂದು ಪುಸ್ತಕದ ಬಗ್ಗೆ ತುಂಬಾ ಪ್ರಶಂಸೆಯ ಮಾತುಗಳನ್ನು ಕೇಳಿದ್ದೇನೆ. ಆ ಪುಸ್ತಕವನ್ನು ಓದಬೇಕೆಂಬ ಬಯಕೆಯೂ ಇದೆ.

  13. Astroshiva,

    I like the way you write.
    Tejaswi,being a son of a great man who was a writer himself,created a niche for himself, i mean it would be unfair to compare both of them. Both stand different.
    Searching youtube for tejaswi’s interviews, if i find any,will post it here.

    Tejeshwini

Leave a Reply

